LHX
04-09-2006, 06:33 PM
enlightenment is expressed in many different words
- understnding
- revelation
- redemption

there are 3 identified paths to enlightenment

1 - intense and dedicated study - to find enlightenment
2 - severe trauma or near-death experience or prolonged suffering - to be enlightened
3 - drug use - to open the doors to enlightenment

all 3 of course have their pros and cons

the pros of 1 are that it is 'safest'
but
it takes the longest

the pros of 2 are that its fastest
but
you go thru physical hell to get there

the pros of 3 are that its easiest
but
if you go places that you are unprepared to go to - you run danger of getting lost

for most people
the trip takes a detour thru all 3 paths

for me personally
drugs opened my eyes a bit
but
it was traumatic experiences that kicked my journey into high gear
then i studied for a long time
and now i am getting a taste of the prolonged suffering
and i still study

please add on if you have any insights

or stories to share

or any other reason how you wound up spending time discussing philosophy on an internet forum

peace

galt john galt
04-10-2006, 12:10 AM
i have gone through all three and i'm still prone to the third and forever in the first. in a line of succession it went three two one.

SubtleEnergies
04-10-2006, 03:05 AM
I kind of avoided drugs totally. I study alot now....which I do to try and escape a traumatic situation I find myself in.

Prince Rai
04-10-2006, 06:14 AM
drugs would bring you to that state but as you said, its the most dangeours and can take you where you are unprepared to go.

the ebst personally is the first.

just with the highest of attributes, "patience", will we find enlightenment at high degrees.

imo

LHX
04-10-2006, 06:38 AM
drugs would bring you to that state but as you said, its the most dangeours and can take you where you are unprepared to go.

the ebst personally is the first.