PDA

View Full Version : Do I need a soundcard or what?


Tangaz
02-01-2007, 09:07 PM
Heya.

I got this PC a while ago, and I've got no sound on it. I don't know if it's not pickin' up my speakers, or if I need a soundcard or what?

Anyone help me out with some diagnostics?

100pr00f
02-01-2007, 09:21 PM
prolly need a sound card ...prolly got one in it but u dont have the software to run it...

Bloo
02-02-2007, 01:53 AM
Usually a really easy fix. Before you do anything else, make sure that the speakers are plugged into the "Audio Out" sound jack. That's usually what fucks me up when I'm not getting sound.

If that's not the case then it might just be the computer. most Motherboards come with an onboard soundchip, but in order to use it the drivers for it must be installed. If they already are then it might just be that they're corrupt and need to be reinstalled. If they aren't installed at all then you'll need to do so before you get any sound. You can usually find the drivers on the manufacturer's website, but first you've gotta know what brand of chip it is. Unless you got the computer from a major manufatcurer (like Dell, Alienware, ect..) and know the model number, you'll have to look on the motherboard itself to find the soundchip. As for where it could be is anyone's guess, it varies depending on the board.

But once you find it, it'll usually say the chip maker somewhere on the chip itself. Just type it into Google and usually it'll point you to links where you can download the drivers.

Make sure you get the drivers for the O/S you use though.

Tangaz
02-02-2007, 02:36 AM
Cheers fellas. And a big thanks to Bloo. Champ.

...Is that mod-status I see?

Bloo
02-02-2007, 03:00 AM
Sho nuff is :)

I'm only holding down the Digi section though. But that W looks cool next to my name though :yes:

Tangaz
02-02-2007, 03:19 AM
'Bout-bloody-time too. Good shit.

And yeah 't does.


Now, to work all this stuff out and get messin' with FL6...

Bloo
02-02-2007, 03:21 AM
Thanks for the love homie, much appreciated.

BTW, have you figured out the sound issue?