PDA

View Full Version : computer is fucked(ur my boy bloo)


100pr00f
04-19-2007, 08:58 AM
haha

well yea i got a viruse like 3 days ago witch i had before on my work computer ant i got rid of it

it was a system alert pop up shit thats stays on ur tool bar

any way

i did the same steps i did last time
i d/l smitfraudfix
botted in safe mode
ran programe

but then it came up it couldnt complete cuz some files were missing im my comp
i shut down the program and there is no background withc it does that but last time it completed and shut down the comp

but i had to do it my self

so i did that

it came up to the screen were windows is loading and then pops up a screen saying

runchk or scanchk
i forgot the name
the thing that pops up when u have a shutdown u did by hand
its saying its mission then pops up a big blue screen saying fatle errer
somthing somthing it had to shut down widows



any one know how to get past this

im at work

only computer i can use now haha

need to get some files off my comp so i can do the corp mix tape


peace

Bloo
04-19-2007, 12:28 PM
Boom Bitches!!! I'm up in this pizznece!

Sounds like you might have a corrupted boot file. You can try a few things to see if it works.

1. When you first boot your computer, hold F8 and in the menu that pops up select "Last Known Good Configuration" windows will revert back to it's last good configuration and boot from there. If that doesn't work...

2. Get a windows XP disc. put it in your computer and restart it. When it asks you to hit a key to boot from the disc, do it. After the windows setup loads, select your windows installation (usually C:\Windows) and press R to repair. It should copy the files it needs and reinstall windows while keeping all your programs and settings intact.

If you don't get a repair option when you get to that point in the windows setup then you might just have to format your hard drive and start over...

100pr00f
04-19-2007, 12:41 PM
haha yea i did all thos ..shoulda told u that
i booted from all the options given after hitting f8
then i tryd the windows xp disk i hit repair then i tried to re install it but it dosnt do nothing but copy the files
and then trys to complete it when windows opens but cant cuz windows wont open

Bloo
04-19-2007, 05:35 PM
Yeah, I thought that it you might have already... But if anything you might just have to format your hard drive at this point. You don't have to lose all your data though. If you have access to another computer, take your hard drive and put it in that one and from a good working copy of windows just backup all the shit you wanna keep.

Dirty Knowledge
04-19-2007, 05:48 PM
If he formats won't he lose all his data?

Bloo
04-19-2007, 06:00 PM
Yeah, but if this was a virus that caused it all then it would probably be best to do that anyway that way windows won't corrupt again. But if he can find another computer to put his hard drive in he can use that opprotunity to back up the things he wants to keep.

Dirty Knowledge
04-19-2007, 06:15 PM
Only if the harddrive still works. Which it doesn't sound like it will. But that is the best advice to give the man. If that don't work, you know the HD is fucked.

Bloo
04-19-2007, 11:57 PM
Also, if you have the capability and some money to spare, you might wanna consider setting up a RAID. That way your data is backed up automatically and incase of an emergency such as this you don't have to start all the way from zero. I plan on doing the same sometime by summer. Just gotta grab a few more hard drives and put it into effect.

GuardianOne
04-20-2007, 02:28 AM
Yeah, If you have access to another computer, take your hard drive and put it in that one and from a good working copy of windows just backup all the shit you wanna keep.

What files were missing? And do you know where the viral infection was residing?

Anyway, the previous posts where all relevant. Firstly if you are to use another PC to boot, whilst you slave the corrupted XP HDD, you must make sure that the Known Good XP HDD is well protected (antiviral applications)...you don't want to have 2 PCs with the same problem.

Boot from the other PC and if the corrupt XP HDD is detected, most likely the working XP version will detect the corruption and repair it (well it will prompt if it can repair) depending on the problem.

Then let XP resolve the problem...

Peace
PS:Keep us informed...But make sure you've copied the directories with you data.

Bloo
04-20-2007, 02:30 AM
Good observation Guard. I didn't even think to try to repair it through another virus scan.

GuardianOne
04-20-2007, 02:42 AM
Good observation Guard. I didn't even think to try to repair it through another virus scan.

No Charge....

I've had a problem with this file extension (.lwp) wordpro. But i just found a app that can open it kvlotus.exe (you know how these legacy programs are)

Peace
PS: If that's pr00f's excuse for not working on the corp mixtape, then iam supprised why its taken him long to resolve the matter?

100pr00f
04-20-2007, 08:11 AM
ima try what i can this weekend
i think if i do get it up and running ima get a external hdd so i can store all my shit on it .and just take it any were i want and unplug it when i dont need it

then ill wipe my harddrive out
try and find a good copy of windows

last time i wiped it out i had to find some files that were not on it for some reason

but i found some new things to do to fix my comp


i have to go to this site

ftp://ftp.symantec.com/public/english_us_canada/tools/pq/utilities/ptedit.zip

then creat a bootable ms-dos disk for widows by formating a blank floppy then copy ptedit to it
set the bios to boot from floppy
and type

a:\prompt, ptedit


and some other steps after that

and one know of this

or could look it up

peace

100pr00f
04-21-2007, 09:00 AM
well that didnt work

...i re instald windows but in another drive since i spit the hdd in half

i can get on now but i cant get in to my system 32 folder so i can past the autochkexe file in and i can get in to the aministrator's documents were my files i need to get out are

...

do u think i can get to them if i threw my hd in another comp

damn i wish i could get that shit out

Wu-Tality
05-20-2007, 05:33 PM
You could try booting in safe mode and logging in as administrator.....

That said, what exactly do you see once you're in the system32 folder? It should also say somewhere if you want to make it visible.

Try running a virusscan too? www.free-av.com/ (http://www.free-av.com/) has a good detection rate.