PDA

View Full Version : Sometimes I think....

Olive Oil Goombah
12-24-2007, 11:17 PM
...religion and God is just a figment of our imaginations and that used to depress me, being raised Catholic and taught to believe in God. As I studied astronomy more, i was fascinated and obsessed with it for a while, but it was also very unfulfilling as it did not answer the age old question as to 'why' we are here.....
It felt so cold, sterile and.....scientific.
Than you hear of Earth invaders and ancient civilizations and you start to think....
But the problem is that nobody has the answer, and many people think they know but really its all faith with little or no evidence to back it.

Now I assume many may ridicule me for an honest post like(or maybe not) but alot of times I wish I didn't think so deeply on this subject and was a robot like so many others, so caught up in their lives and material, meaningless stuff that they rarely ask themselves why.

I guess my question is....do any of you ever feel hopeless or to say it better I guess unsatisfied and empty when it comes to really thinking about what this is all about?

Sometimes, I think we are all just linked in a looping cycles of infinite smallness and infinite bigness....like we are part of a universe infinitely huge, yet our entire universe is mere electron in another infinitely huge universe....

begongo
12-25-2007, 03:29 AM
I feel you man ... I used to meditate a lot on existentialism and related philosophies, and it got me depressed too. I also wished I wouldn't think deeply on the subject and was a robot ... then .. it got to me that all is meaningless and you shouldn't really have any boundaries. It sounds stupid and teen-like, but fuck it ... if I can't get spiritual satisfaction at least I can aim for the physical/material and have a real chance to achieve it.

SID
12-25-2007, 06:52 PM