PDA

View Full Version : Does G.P.A. matter?

IrOnMaN
07-27-2008, 12:09 PM
Do you think that G.P.A. determines how smart a person is? I'm majoring in Geology and it's a pretty tough major. My major G.P.A. is a 3.0 but my culminative G.P.A is......let's say it's not so good. I know that I'm a pretty bright guy. The problem I have is that I don't like the University that I'm currently attending nor the people. Plus, I live in a pretty f***** up area! I have a part-time job and I attend school full-time. I'm VERY busy! I just get tired sometimes. Even though I'll be finish in May '09, I know I have to get my culminative G.P.A. up to at least a 2.7.

Because if I don't, I have a strong feeling that grad. schools won't accepted me and companies won't hire me based on my undergraduate G.P.A. Plus, I know that there are people that will try to roast me. "Damn, you're dumb".

But I do have a good IQ of 131, though. Now, if I had majored in commuications or english, then I would probably have a high culmunative G.P.A. Whatever happens, happens. You know?

Please discuss. Thanks.

begongo
07-27-2008, 12:23 PM
lol I got the exact same IQ score

anyway .. what is GPA?

minibumpsh
07-27-2008, 12:25 PM
gpa= grade point average.

I don't think a GPA should define how smart someone is, but numbers are important if youre trying to apply to a good college, when you go for your bachelors, and whatever the fuck else you tryna accomplish.

Olive Oil Goombah
07-27-2008, 12:30 PM
It shows how well you grasped the material and how much effort you put into your
classes.
There are classes were i have gotten B+'s and i easily could have gotten A's if
i worked a little harder, made that extra effort.

As far as funding goes for college and stuff like that, yea GPA is important for
scholarships.
And if your at a 3.0 and another kid has a 4.0 and you both interview the same at a job, its just another bonus to have on your resume.
The employer will either think he is smarter or a harder worker.