PDA

View Full Version : Wolverine sequel

KZA
08-10-2009, 11:34 PM
It was a give-and-take sort of night for "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" star Hugh Jackman, with the Australian actor accepting a Teen Choice Award for his portrayal of the claw-wielding comic book hero, then offering fans some details about the planned sequel for the film.

"I've been putting on the claws for about 10 years now, so it goes to show if you practice hard enough you eventually get it right," Jackman said while accepting the award for Choice Movie Actor: Action Adventure.

Holding up the surfboard that served as this year's trophy, Jackman alluded to the story that will bring him back as the Marvel Comics hero. "Who knows? Maybe Wolverine will use one of these when he heads to Japan," he told the audience. "See you next time around!"

Officially confirmed in May, the sequel to "Wolverine" has long been rumored to send the title character off to Japan for a story line pulled from his comic book adventures. As far back as November, Jackman told MTV News about his desire to bring this chapter of the character's comic book history into the live-action world. He later said he'd talked to writers about adapting the early 1980s comics co-scripted by "Sin City" creator Frank Miller that had Wolverine fighting samurais and ninjas — while also settling down with a Japanese bride.

"The 'going to Japan' was pretty serious, the 'using the surfboard' was not," Jackman laughed when we snagged him backstage to ask about his acceptance speech.

"Japan is where we're heading, [and] we're starting to work on it now," he explained. "We're in ... the first steps of developing that story."

While fans will probably be glad to hear Wolverine won't be hopping on a surfboard in the sequel, Jackman said he's "made no real secret" of his fondness for the Japanese story line from Miller and veteran "X-Men" comics scribe Chris Claremont.