once upon a time in shaolin - buy the book now!
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: KOSS - BORN TO LIVE [Below System Records] 2017

  1. #1

    Default KOSS - BORN TO LIVE [Below System Records] 2017

    Really cool album just got released from Belgian DJ Koss. Tracks hark back to the golden era of the early nineties, I been looking forward to this one for a while, finally here::

    1 Born To Live Part I
    2 And You Don't Stop
    Featuring – Torae
    3 Longevity
    Featuring – Masta Ace
    4 H.E.R.
    Featuring – Craig G, Large Professor
    5 A Word From Marley (Skit)
    Featuring – Marley Marl
    6 The Rawness
    Featuring – Blaq Poet
    7 Through The Years
    Featuring – Blaq Poet, Craig G
    8 Straight Up Pretenders
    Featuring – J-Live
    9 This Is Now
    Featuring – Keith Murray
    10 How I Get Down
    Featuring – Ruste Juxx
    11 Born To Live Part II
    12 Longevity (K-Def Remix)
    Featuring – Masta Ace
    13 H.E.R. (12 Finger Dan Remix)
    Featuring – Craig G, Large Professor
    14 Through The Years (B-Base Remix)
    Featuring – Blaq Poet, Craig G
    15 This Is Now (Large Professor Remix)
    Featuring – Keith Murray

    “I just use turntables, vinyl and a MPC, that's it. I always come back to the basics with production because it forces me to be creative. Giving a sense to a melody or a rhythm is a powerful thing and it doesn't happen every day.” Belgium based producer, Koss can be considered a hip-hop purist.

    His previously released body of work has emulated late 80’s / early 90’s heaters producing EP’s for Craig G (Juice Crew), AG (Showbiz & AG) and El Da Sensei (Artifacts). Now Below System Records (Masta Ace, Phat Kat, Chuuwee & Trizz) will be releasing his official full-length production album entitled “Born To Live”.

    Whereas the previous EPs was one MC per release, the forthcoming album boasts an all-star line-up of spitters including Torae, Large Professor, Masta Ace, Keith Murray, Blaq Poet, Ruste Juxx, J-Live and Craig G. When asked why he decided to have different features on each track Koss related “I wanted this album to express life and my passion for the Hip-Hop culture. My aim was to choose MCs that no matter what is in style at the moment always stay consistent and remember where they came from.”

    The true school vibe of the album even extends to the remixers that Koss selected. “Born To Live” CD and digital editions will feature track remixes courtesy of K-Def (Ghostface Killah, Tragedy Khadafi), Large Professor (Main Source, Nas) and close friends 12 Finger Dan and B-Base.
    released September 8, 2017

    - All tracks written by the artists appearing on the tracks.
    - All tracks produced by Koss except track 6 by Koss & B-Base, track 12 by K-Def, Track 13 by 12 Finger Dan, Track 14 by B-Base and track 15 by Large Professor.
    - Scratches by DJ Grazzhoppa on tracks 1, 3 & 11, Soulbrotha on tracks 2 & 6, 12 Finger Dan on tracks 7, 9 & 10 and Saim Smith on track 8.
    - Mixing and Mastering by ALF & Fred'ALB
    - Photography by Gilles Fischer


  2. #2


    I am familiar with DJ Grazzhoppa who hails from my home town but not with DJ Koss. thanks for posting this, I am Belgian. will check out the album on bandcamp

  3. #3


    sounding good so far! 3 tracks in. good production

    probably gonna cop the physical.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts